Free time

Summer

Summer (Photo credit: raffacama)

 

 

So, this is what free time looks like? Aside from the end of term, I also set myself a task of making a cross-stitch for a friend’s wedding next week. I’ve finished and it’s beautiful. But now, for the first time in 11 months, I have nothing to do on a lunch break – no book or paper that needs reading, no assignment to make notes for, nothing to print. This blog is due, however, and that is just ongoing. But there is gloriously nothing else to do. That only happens when I go away for the week with friends. When I’m at home with nothing to do, I start thinking through all the books I am going to read. At the moment, I have a new Terry Pratchett that is begging for my attention, and I will be starting that this week.

 

 

 

I have my ‘summer homework’ book arriving in the post shortly – Rogers on groups – and I’m looking forward to that, but for now, this feels like my indulgent summer. I have a ‘to read’ pile that’s fairly precarious. I also have a LOT of shelves that I need to put up – for the books, to get them off the precarious ‘to read’ pile (and move them on to a ‘to read’ shelf).

 

 

 

I still have clients – I’m not on holiday from that, but actually, that just feels like ‘normal work’ (and when I started seeing clients 11 months ago I didn’t imagine that that would be what I was saying less than a year down the line).

 

This feels indulgent and decadent, but frankly, I am not the furthest behind in my hours that I could be (certainly, could o better and hope to do so next year!) and I have passed (I think) year two, so I think that a small celebration in the forms of relaxing is in order.

 

How are other students spending their summer?

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Free time

  1. manyofus1980 says:

    It sounds like you need some space and free time, soI am glad your getting some, 2 years down, yay, way to go!

  2. kutukamus says:

    Come to think of it, do you ever consider the ‘to read pile’ and ‘read shelf’ combination? Yep, only the read ones go to the shelf. πŸ™‚

    • I have no shelf space left unfortunately. I need time to put up a load more shelves! So even the read ones aren’t making it to shelves at present but at least it’s a different pile!

Say something about this

